Fall Update 2018



Since the last weeks of 2017 and early 2018 the workload of the TC-CMTA has increased based on the potential that the Health Professions Act would be on the Government’s Agenda for the within the next 6-18 months. In order to prepare for that possibility, the Transitional Council has been working on all of the required foundational pieces to prepare for a future regulatory College.

Council Updates

With the added responsibilities of the Council, the number of representatives on Council has also increased. Please join us in welcoming new Council representatives Christy Kasur, Mike Horne, Heather Goddard and Susan Lewis-Waye, who were elected at the 2018 AGM, Kathy Watson who was appointed in the Spring of 2018 and Melanie Hayden, and Meagan Dick, who were appointed in the Fall of 2018. Kim Moore, Pamela Bernard, Kelly Sloan and Janet Mwamburi have all stepped down from the Council over the last several months. We extend our sincere gratitude to the former Council members for their commitment and hard work in establishing the TC-CMTA and moving regulation of the profession forward in Alberta.

The current Council members are: Susan Waye – President

Christy Kasur – Vice-President Heather Kew – Secretary
Christy Pritchard – Treasurer Meagan Dick – Council Member Heather Goddard – Council Member Kathy Watson – Council Member Melanie Hayden – Council Member Mike Horne – Council Member

Documents to the Government

During the Spring months, the TC-CMTA had been preparing a number of documents required by the Health Professions Policy & Partnerships Unit as part of the regulation preparation process. These documents accompany the draft Schedule that is sent out to government stakeholders for consultation purposes, which is a requirement in order for Massage Therapy to be considered for inclusion in the Health Professions Act. These documents include:

PO Box 22040 RPO Westpark, Red Deer, AB T4N 6X4  E: admin@crmtab.ca

Schedule – The Schedule is the formal outline for the profession that ultimately is included into the Health Professions Act legislation. This document outlines the name of the future Regulatory Body, the Restricted Titles that will be in place, the Scope of Practice for the profession, and the manner in which existing practitioners will be transitioned into the future regulatory body.

Code of Ethics – The Code of Ethics outlines the core ethical principles for Registered Massage Therapists: Respect for Persons and Justice, Beneficence, Non-Maleficence and Accountability. The Code of Ethics is articulated in the form of guiding ethical principles, general statements of application and standards of application that specify the behaviours and attitudes that are required of all Massage Therapists as regulated healthcare professionals.

Standards of Practice - The Standards of Practice are based on the Interjurisdictional Practice Competencies and Performance Indicators for Massage Therapists at Entry to Practice in addition to considering the tasks regularly undertaken by Massage Therapists in the course of professional practice. Through the development and use of these Standards, a Massage Therapist has the opportunity to display their commitment to serving their patients and promoting the highest possible quality of Massage Therapy treatment in a safe, competent and ethical manner.

Now that the required documentation has been submitted through to the government for review and consultation, the TC-CMTA is able to move its focus to setting the core foundational governing aspects required for operations of the future College. This includes, but is not limited to, establishing the governance model and associated policies as well as the operational policies that will be required.